The cost of a Diploma of Counselling can vary significantly between registered training organisations in Australia.
The amount you pay depends on factors such as your training provider, where you live, how you study and whether you are eligible for subsidised training.
The tuition fee is also only part of the overall picture. Trainer support, practical assessments, delivery method and any additional course-related costs can all affect the overall study experience and value of the course.
How Much Does a Diploma of Counselling Typically Cost?
There is no single national fee for the CHC51015 Diploma of Counselling.
The amount you pay can depend on:
- Your state or territory
- Your eligibility for subsidised training
- Whether you are studying full fee
- The training provider you choose
- Whether you study online or on campus
- Any additional course-related costs
- The payment or loan options available to you
This means two students completing the same nationally recognised qualification may pay different amounts.
When comparing course fees, look beyond the headline tuition price and consider what is included and how the training is delivered.
What Is the CHC51015 Diploma of Counselling?
The CHC51015 Diploma of Counselling is a nationally recognised qualification designed to develop foundational counselling knowledge and practical skills.
The qualification includes 17 units of competency:
- 13 core units
- 4 elective units
Study covers areas such as establishing counselling relationships, communication and interviewing skills, counselling approaches, supporting client decision-making, responding to crises and working ethically with diverse clients.
When comparing Diploma of Counselling courses, check that you are looking at the CHC51015 qualification and consider how each provider develops and assesses practical counselling skills.
What Does the Course Fee Usually Include?
What is included in tuition fees can vary between training providers.
Course fees will generally cover:
- Course delivery
- Learning materials
- Assessment and marking
- Access to trainers and assessors
- Practical assessments
- Issuing of the qualification following successful completion
The level and type of support provided may differ.
Some providers offer structured trainer access, scheduled sessions and opportunities to receive feedback on practical counselling skills, while other delivery models may require students to study more independently.
This is why the lowest advertised tuition fee does not necessarily represent the best study option for every student.
What Additional Costs Should You Budget For?
Depending on the provider and your circumstances, there may be costs outside the advertised tuition fee.
These could include:
- National Police Check
- Working with Children Check, where relevant
- Textbooks or additional learning resources if they are not included
- Technology required for online study
- Internet access
- Any applicable resource or administration fees
- Professional association membership after completing the course, if you choose to apply
Not every cost will apply to every student.
Before enrolling, ask whether the quoted tuition fee represents the full course cost and whether there are any additional compulsory charges.
Does the Diploma of Counselling Include Work Placement?
The CHC51015 Diploma of Counselling does not specify a mandatory work placement requirement.
At TrainSmart Australia, the Diploma of Counselling includes no work placement component. Instead, students complete simulated practical assessments designed to develop and demonstrate counselling skills in a controlled environment.
These practicals give students opportunities to practise areas such as:
- Building a counselling relationship
- Active listening and questioning
- Responding appropriately to client concerns
- Applying counselling techniques
- Supporting client decision-making
- Responding to challenging or complex scenarios
- Receiving feedback on practical performance
For students studying online, simulated practicals provide an opportunity to apply theoretical knowledge rather than completing the course entirely through written assessment.
When comparing providers, ask how practical counselling skills are assessed and what support is available while completing those assessments.
Is Subsidised Training Available for the Diploma of Counselling?
Subsidised training may be available depending on your state or territory, the qualification and your personal eligibility.
Each state and territory manages its own vocational education and training subsidy programs, so availability and eligibility differ across Australia.
Western Australia
Eligible Western Australian students may be able to access subsidised training through Jobs and Skills WA’s Lower Fees, Local Skills program.
At TrainSmart Australia, current indicative tuition fees for eligible students studying the Diploma of Counselling under the subsidised program are:
- $444 for eligible concession students
- $1,498.50 for eligible non-concession students
Course fee caps may also apply depending on eligibility and the calendar year in which training takes place.
Eligibility criteria apply, and the subsidised study option includes attendance requirements in Perth.
Subsidy arrangements and fees can change, so students should confirm current eligibility and costs before enrolling.
Other States and Territories
Other states and territories operate their own vocational education and training subsidy programs.
Eligibility may depend on factors such as residency, previous qualifications, age, employment circumstances and whether the Diploma of Counselling is included in the relevant program.
Students outside Western Australia should check their state or territory training authority for current information.
What Does the Diploma of Counselling Cost at TrainSmart Australia?
The maximum tuition fee for the CHC51015 Diploma of Counselling at TrainSmart Australia is $7,995.
Different payment arrangements may be available depending on your circumstances and eligibility.
When considering the cost, compare the tuition fee with the course delivery, practical assessment requirements, trainer support and any additional charges that may apply.
Can You Use a VET Student Loan for a Diploma of Counselling?
Eligible students may be able to use a VET Student Loan to help pay tuition fees for the CHC51015 Diploma of Counselling.
SMR Learning Services Pty Ltd, trading as TrainSmart Australia, RTO 51771, is an approved VET Student Loans provider. The maximum tuition fee for the CHC51015 Diploma of Counselling is $7,995.
VET Student Loans will not be approved for students who do not meet eligibility requirements. A VET Student Loan creates a VETSL debt, which remains a debt owed to the Commonwealth until it is repaid.
A VET Student Loan is a loan from the Australian Government that assists eligible students to pay tuition fees.
A 20% loan fee applies to VET Student Loans for courses other than state- or territory-subsidised courses. The loan fee does not apply to state- or territory-government-subsidised students.
The loan fee is added to the student’s VETSL debt. VET Student Loans are also subject to indexation.
Repayments are made through the Australian taxation system once the applicable repayment requirements are met.
Students should review current VET Student Loans information, confirm their eligibility and understand the financial implications before applying.
What You’ll Actually Repay
You repay nothing until your income reaches $69,528 (2026–27 rate).
Above that, repayments are calculated on a marginal basis — the rate applies only to the portion of your income above the threshold, not your whole salary. For most graduates that means 15% of the amount over $69,528.
| Your income | Compulsory repayment | Share of your income |
|---|---|---|
| Up to $69,528 | Nil | — |
| $75,000 | $821 a year (about $16 a week) | 1.1% |
| $85,000 | $2,321 a year (about $45 a week) | 2.7% |
| $95,000 | $3,821 a year (about $73 a week) | 4.0% |

What Should You Compare Besides the Course Fee?
Price matters, but it does not tell you everything about the course you will receive.
| What to compare | What to ask |
|---|---|
| Practical training | How will I practise and demonstrate counselling skills? |
| Trainer support | How and when can I access my trainer if I need help? |
| Delivery method | Is the course online, on campus or blended? |
| Course duration | How long will the qualification take to complete? |
| Practical assessments | How are practical counselling competencies assessed? |
| Additional costs | Are there resources, checks or other charges beyond tuition? |
| Study support | What support is available if I need additional guidance? |
Comparing these factors alongside tuition can give you a clearer understanding of what each course actually provides.
How Do You Decide Whether a Diploma of Counselling Offers Good Value?
Good value does not necessarily mean choosing the lowest-priced course.
A more useful question is whether the course structure, support and delivery method align with how you want to study and what you hope to achieve.
Consider:
- Whether the qualification aligns with your intended career pathway
- How practical counselling skills are developed and assessed
- How much trainer support you will receive
- Whether the delivery method suits your circumstances
- Whether you can realistically manage the study commitment
- What additional costs may apply
- Whether subsidised training is available to you
- What payment or loan options may be available
Someone already working in health or community services may have different priorities from someone entering the sector for the first time.
Understanding what matters to you makes it easier to compare courses on more than tuition alone.
Frequently Asked Questions
How much does a Diploma of Counselling cost in Australia?
The cost of a Diploma of Counselling varies between training providers and may also depend on your location, study arrangement and eligibility for subsidised training.
When comparing costs, consider the tuition fee alongside practical training, trainer access, delivery arrangements and any additional course-related fees.
Can I access subsidised training for a Diploma of Counselling?
Possibly. Training subsidies vary by state and territory.
Eligible Western Australian students may be able to access subsidised training through Jobs and Skills WA’s Lower Fees, Local Skills program. Eligibility criteria apply.
Does the Diploma of Counselling include work placement?
The CHC51015 qualification does not specify mandatory work placement.
At TrainSmart Australia, the Diploma of Counselling has no work placement component. Instead, students complete simulated practical assessments that allow them to practise and demonstrate counselling skills in a controlled environment.
Final Thoughts
The cost of a Diploma of Counselling depends on your training provider, study arrangement, subsidy eligibility and what support is included in the course.
Before enrolling, compare tuition fees alongside delivery mode, practical assessment methods, trainer support, additional costs and available payment or loan options.
TrainSmart Australia offers the CHC51015 Diploma of Counselling over 12 months, with practical counselling skills developed through simulated assessments and different study and payment options available depending on eligibility.
Explore the course and current fees or contact our team to discuss which study option may apply to your circumstances.
Last updated: August 2026. Fees, subsidies, eligibility criteria and VET Student Loan arrangements are subject to change. Always check current information before enrolling. SMR Learning Services Pty Ltd trading as TrainSmart Australia, RTO 51771.